A Farmers Wife and Life

Walk (or run) with me as I share our story.

Flies… Oh How I Loathe Them! November 4, 2013

Filed under: Dairy,Garden,Scott Brothers Dairy Farms — cntryrose @ 7:28 pm
Tags: , ,

As much as I love fall, I loathe fly season…, which unfortunately also coincides  with my two favorite seasons of the year, early Fall and late Spring. The minute the weather begins to turn cooler in the Fall these pesky little buggers try to get into the house. And when the weather begins to warm in the Spring they hatch out to begin their bothersome ways all over again. We have flies cluster around the doors and windows as the sun begins to set and believe me, you seriously cannot open a door without a half dozen or more of them making it into our home. If the windows are open the screens become black with flies hugging those screens for warmth. It’s just disgusting and it’s also quite discouraging! I wash fly “specks” (poop) off of window frames more than the normal person would ever think of having to do. I spray doors and windows with fly spray every evening. We leave fly bait out and then watch as the flies buzz around like little maniacal toy tops in their death throes. Do I sound apathetic about that…  you bet I do. I truly detest flies!

Flies Searching for Warmth

Flies Searching for Warmth

Kai has quickly learned that when the flyswatter gets picked up that there’s soon going to be a LOUD SMACK (and he’s not fond of loud noises), he retreats off behind a chair and hides. He knows that either mom or dad is going to be zeroing in on some hapless fly… and then with a LOUD swat and hopefully with a good aim said fly is history. But unfortunately we’re not always blessed with a good aim and then our poor puppy has to wait for another loud swat. However, as he has aged Kai has learned to not like flies either… and he is getting better and better with catching them himself. He’ll follow one throughout the house and then SNAP… he goes for it, and often catches it within his snapping jaws. For that fact alone he may earn his way into being a housedog forever! LOL

Fly season… good gosh almighty WHY do we have flies? Nothing is sacred to them, our food, the clean dishes, clean countertops; even bathroom supplies are at risk of being walked on by flies. YUCK! And have you ever tried to take a nap in the sun on a cool crisp Fall day or on a lazy warm Spring day? It’s almost impossible to do  during fly season… the flies find you and then buzz around you like some sort of kamikaze pilot, or worse land on your face just as you fall asleep… they are quite successful at virtually doing everything possible to make your longed for nap an impossibility. Dang things.

I really do hate flies. 

 

One Response to “Flies… Oh How I Loathe Them!”

  1. […] Flies… Oh How I Loathe Them! (cntryrose.net) […]


Leave a comment